MSNBC’s Stephanie Ruhle to Host Sandy Hook Promise 4th Annual Gala in Washington D.C.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                    


MSNBC’s Stephanie Ruhle to Host Sandy Hook Promise 4th Annual Gala in Washington D.C.

U.S. Senator Bob Casey and House Republican Conference Chair Cathy McMorris Rodgers to be honored for their work in gun violence prevention and mental health awareness



Sandy Hook Promise will host its 4th Annual Sandy Hook Promise Champions Gala, honoring men and women from across the country for their work in violence and gun violence prevention.

MSNBC anchor Stephanie Ruhle will serve as the emcee for the evening, and U.S. Senator Bob Casey (D-PA) and House Republican Conference Chair Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA) will be honored. They will be joined by members of Congress, esteemed business and philanthropic leaders and Promise Leaders from across the nation, who are creating change within our communities.


This year’s theme is centered around how each of us can CHANGE THE ENDING, as we all have the power to intervene and get help for a person who is at-risk of harming themselves or others. SHP will also exemplify stories and potential threats that happen far too often and what SHP’s programs are doing to educate schools and communities across the country to Know the Signs and intervene for a different outcome.


The evening will also include a special performance from local Washington D.C. student performers. 


Proceeds from the Promise Champions Gala help fund delivery of Sandy Hook Promise’s research-based violence prevention programs to homes, schools and communities nationwide.


WHEN:                   Wednesday, June 13, 2018  

TIME:                    Reception: 6PM | Dinner & Program: 7PM - 9PM | Dessert Reception: 9PM

WHERE:                 Mellon Auditorium – 1301 Constitution Avenue, NW | Washington, DC  





EVENT EMCEE:  MSNBC News Anchor Stephanie Ruhle


2018 HONOREES: U.S. Senator Bob Casey (D-PA) and House Republican Conference Chair Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)


HONORARY CO-CHAIRS: U.S. Senator Charles E. Schumer, Democratic Leader, Senator Richard Blumenthal, and U.S. Senator Chris Murphy



U.S. Congresswoman Karen Bass

U.S. Congresswoman Joyce Beatty

U.S. Senator Michael F. Bennet

U.S. Senator Ben Cardin

U.S. Senator Thomas R. Carper

U.S. Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr.

U.S. Congresswoman Judy Chu

U.S. Senator Chris Coons

U.S. Congressman Joe Courtney

U.S. Representative Carlos Curbelo

U.S. Congresswoman Rosa L. DeLauro

U.S. Congressman Mark DeSaulnier

U.S. Congressman Ted Deutch



U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth

U.S. Senator Richard Durbin

U.S. Congresswoman Anna Eshoo

U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein

U.S. Congresswoman Lois Frankel

U.S. Congresswoman Marcia L. Fudge

U.S. Congressman John Garamendi

U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand

U.S. Congressman Jim Himes

U.S. Congressman Jared Huffman

U.S. Senator Tim Kaine

U.S. Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur

U.S. Congresswoman Robin Kelly



U.S. Congressman Joe Kennedy III

U.S. Congressman Peter King

U.S. Senator Patrick J. Leahy

U.S. Congresswoman Barbara Lee

U.S. Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren

U.S. Congressman Alan Lowenthal

U.S. Senator Ed Markey

U.S. Congressman Jerry McNerney

U.S. Congresswoman Grace F. Napolitano

U.S. Senator Bill Nelson

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, House Democratic Leader

U.S. Congressman Scott Peters

U.S. Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard

U.S. Congressman Bobby L. Rush

U.S. Congressman Tim Ryan

U.S. Congressman John Rutherford

U.S. Congresswoman Linda T. Sanchez

U.S. Senator Brian Schatz

U.S. Congressman Adam B. Schiff

U.S. Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz

U.S. Congresswoman Robert “Bobby” Scott

U.S. Congresswoman Jackie Speier

U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow

U.S. Congressman Michael Thompson

U.S. Senator Pat Toomey

U.S. Congresswoman Norma J. Torres

U.S. Senator Mark Warner

U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren



Elizabeth Baker

David Castagnetti

Chester “Chip” Davis, Jr.

Caryn Dyson

The Honorable Vic Fazio

Jillian Fitzpatrick

Broderick Johnson

Michele Norris Johnson

Jill Canino Kaleta

Sean Kennedy

Israel “Izzy” Klein

Melissa Maxfield

Joy McGlaun

Heather McHugh

Jennifer Navarro

Larry O’Brien

Jeffrey Peck

The Honorable Gordan H. Smith

Kristin Solheim

Rich & Linda Tarplin

David Thomas

Berry Trimble

Andrew Woods

Elizabeth Woody

Andy York

Kim Zimmerman



About Sandy Hook Promise

Sandy Hook Promise (SHP) is a national, nonprofit organization based in Newtown, Connecticut. We are led by several family members whose loved ones were killed in the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School on December 14, 2012 that claimed the lives of 20 first-graders and 6 educators. SHP is focused on preventing gun violence (and other forms of violence and victimization) BEFORE it happens by educating and mobilizing youth and adults on mental health and wellness programs that identify, intervene and help at-risk individuals. SHP is a moderate, above-the-politics organization that supports sensible non-policy and policy solutions that protect children and prevent gun violence. Our intent is to honor all victims of gun violence by turning our tragedy into a moment of transformation. For more information, visit or call 203-304-9780.



For media requests, please contact: Stephanie Morris at   


Media Contact:

Dini von Mueffling Communications

Stephanie Morris