Close this search box.

Meet the 13 Teens from Across the U.S. Leading Gun Violence Prevention in Schools

Sandy Hook Promise Announces their National Youth Advisory Board for 2021-2022

Ending school shootings requires a commitment to looking out for one another, knowing the signs of potential violence or self-harm, speaking up when seeing someone who may be in crisis, and reaching out when someone may be isolated or alone. U.S. Secret Service research shows that this commitment and knowledge are critical to prevention.

Sandy Hook Promise’s National Youth Advisory Board (YAB) is driving the conversations and activities that will help foster social connection and “upstander” action for more than 3,000 SAVE Promise Clubs in elementary, middle, and high schools nationwide.  

The 2021-2022 school year’s National Youth Advisory Board consists of 13 high school student leaders from 11 states.  Serving as a member of this prestigious and select group requires time and dedication – and contagious enthusiasm for helping peers to connect and support one another. The group plans monthly activities and national call-to-action week campaigns for all SAVE Promise Clubs, as well as the annual National SAVE Promise Club Youth Summit.

“These exceptional teen leaders are actively creating safer and more inclusive environments in their schools, their communities, and beyond,” said Nicole Hockley, co-founder and managing director of Sandy Hook Promise and mother of Dylan, who was killed in the Sandy Hook Elementary School tragedy. “They embody what Sandy Hook Promise is all about, empowering students to prevent violence and advocate for lasting cultural change that can and will save lives.”

Serving on the National Youth Advisory Board takes many hours of service during the school year. On average, most members contribute more than 300 hours of service time, advising Sandy Hook Promise on national campaigns and events for all SAVE Promise Clubs, advocating for national policy changes, and testifying before state and federal leaders. 

The 2021-2022 members of the YAB are; Aashi Mittal, Del Norte High School, California; Aislinn Burns, Jonathan Law High School, Connecticut; Drew Landsaw, Cutler Bay Senior High School, Florida; Dyuthi Kumar, California High School, California; Hanadie Tulemat, Amos Alonzo Stagg High School, Illinois; Jordyne Lewis, Hickory Ridge High School, North Carolina; Kadance Thornton, Jared’s Heart Of Success, Inc., Georgia; Medha Kishore, Aurora High School, Ohio; Lena Kalandjian, North Broward Preparatory School, Florida; Max Moravec, Mukwonago High School, Wisconsin; Noor Soomro, Lawrence E Elkins High School, Texas; Joel Morales, High Point Regional High School, New Jersey; Teresa Skripek, Biloxi High School, Mississippi.


About Sandy Hook Promise:

Sandy Hook Promise (SHP) is a national nonprofit organization with a mission to end school shootings and create a culture change that prevents violence and other harmful acts that hurt children. Through its life-saving, evidence-informed Know the Signs prevention programs, SHP educates and empowers youth and adults to recognize, intervene, and get help for individuals who may be socially isolated and/or at risk of hurting themselves or others. Through nonpartisan policy and partnerships, SHP advances gun safety, youth mental health, and violence prevention education at the state and federal levels that protect all children from gun violence in their schools, homes, and communities. SHP is led by several family members whose loved ones were killed in the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School on December 14, 2012.   Learn more at 

Media Contact:  

Aimee Thunberg | [email protected] | 646-761-5579